Mot(her)ivator

Mother

Ralph Steadman

 

My mother is the necessity of my intention,
Making me want to do the things I should.
A sloppy boy born of sloth would she shun,
My mother.  Is the necessity of my intention
That in her presence I don’t dawdle but run?
I would please her, be a pleaser if I could.
My mother is the necessity – of my intention –
Making me want.  To do the things I should.

 

* * *

 

Posted at dVerse Poets Pub for Poetics, where Jilly is asking us to write adages with a twist.  I misread the prompt and am now cleaning lemon juice from my keyboard.

29 thoughts on “Mot(her)ivator

  1. A sweet tribute to sweet parenting, when a mother is no longer that voice in your head but becomes your voice in your head… well for good or ill, but this seems for good. I think I will call my mother right now. (She’s sleeping though)

    Like

  2. Great work with the word(s) in the title. Nice work with the adage all the way through. Hah! Lemon juice indeed…..if life gives you lemons, just give ’em a squeeze! 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you! If life hands you lemons, make lemonade. If life hands you manure… um, don’t try to make anything out of it. Trust me on this one. (From a birthday greeting card I was given.)

      Like

Leave a comment