Vanguard

“Much that you see isn’t with your eyes.” – Jim Harrison

 

“There are spirits in these walls,” he said,

“and often in the patrons.”  A quote I heard

on a jazz program about the Vanguard

 

in NYC.

 

Shared it with my dearest, to which she

replied with a query: “Is fermentation part

of the gift or part of the curse?”  Without

thinking, I replied, “Perhaps it is…

 

consolation.”

 

At night I awaken to the sound of intruders

in our house.  Our bedroom door left open

allows stolen light from our neighborhood

to filter through the four-inch ajar-ness,

and I watch the shadows of heads appear

 

and disappear

 

Until the fright wears off, and boredom

restores me to slumber.  The rest of the

night I dream of intruders to my sleep.

 

In daylight I see only with my eyes… mostly.

 

 

This is part of “28 Days of Unreason”

based on prompts taken from poems

by Jim Harrison.

https://jillys2016.wordpress.com/2016/05/02/28-days-of-unreason/

2 thoughts on “Vanguard

  1. Wonderfully surreal feel to this poem and I love the phrase ‘four-inch ajar-ness’ !!!!! The punning of the word spirits is clever. Nice poem! Thanks for joining in on 28 Days of Unreason 🙂 Jilly

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment