Moon Dog

moondog

NASA

This is day 14 of Days of Unreason.

Disclaimer:  Okay, this poem contains mildly adult (and lupine) material; so caution is advised.  I also want to add — in writing this I do not in any way advocate, condone, nor admit to the kind of behavior alluded to in this poem.  It is a poem!  I’m allowed to go off the beaten trail in a poem!  Read Frost if you doubt it!

“The moon is to blame.  I am innocent.” – Jim Harrison

 

My memory is hazy, all in shreds,
not certain what, but the bed’s

torn asunder.  Sheets in tangles.
Panties from a lampshade dangles.

Faint echoes of growls.
The sound of wild howls.

That unsettled feeling in my bowels.

Mattress ripped as if by claws.
Outside the squawking of daws.

An afterimage of a furry muzzle,
superimposed over a friendly nuzzle.

An unplanned opportunity to mate,
perhaps sealing hers or my fate.

What started as an innocent kiss;
did it become a metamorphosis?

Out of the bathroom she comes with tail a-wag
decked out only in the latest werewolf swag.

A little over a year ago, I joined Jillys2016 in a challenge called “28 Days of Unreason.”  She culled quotes from the poems of Jim Harrison in a book called Songs of Unreason.  We used the quotes as prompts; diving boards suspended over the abyss of poetry.  Jill is revisiting unreason, and I am skipping gleefully along.  Come and join the fun!

9 thoughts on “Moon Dog

  1. There may be a connection between an “innocent kiss” and a “metamorphosis”. That topic reminds me of a survey book by Young and Alexander, “The Chemistry Between Us”. It’s an interesting quote from Harrison. Perhaps there is something to astrology that astronomy has ignored to focus on gravity.

    Like

  2. Wild stuff, Charley! I LOVE this. The rhyme scheme is terrific and the phrasing cuts the poem up nicely, like, say, claws on a mattress? The reference to daws and the unsettled feeling in my bowels both add to the sinister feel. What a romp…ride…I mean.. perhaps I should stop talking now. 😉 Excellent poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It was a beautiful one! The ‘tangles’ ‘dangles’, well done! If you don’t mind, the yellow color hurt is very hard to read in my phone, I haven’t checked in a computer, so I thought you should know.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Isn’t it, though? (her voice) She’s done a couple albums with Jon Bonamassa, and has a wild ability to sound like other performers, while still feeling her own whiskey-tinged self. Glad you enjoyed… the poem, the song.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

