Impression Made

This is day 12 of Days of Unreason:

“The beauty of the rattlesnake is in its threat.” – Jim Harrison

 

Dangerous date.

Crazy mate.

Hard to keep.

Hill’s too steep.

Corner’s too tight.

Tumultuous night.

Viper approaches.

Gator encroaches.

A ride of peril.

Creature that’s feral.

Unpredictable cats.

Daredevil bats.

Let’s face it,
you don’t get worked up
over nightmares of cuddly puppies.

 

A little over a year ago, I joined Jillys2016 in a challenge called “28 Days of Unreason.”  She culled quotes from the poems of Jim Harrison in a book called Songs of Unreason.  We used the quotes as prompts; diving boards suspended over the abyss of poetry.  Jill is revisiting unreason, and I am skipping gleefully along.  Come and join the fun!

7 thoughts on “Impression Made

  1. A list poem! Man , you have some scary dreams, Charley. I had to pnder over the Hard to keep line, but I think I know that one, or at least my verson of it. Enjoyed the cats & bats. I am so glad you are a part of the 28 days.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the way each line is like the stuttered fragmentation of dream flow. And with the jumpy narrative that feels only loosely consistent.

    I said this to Jilly over in her thread, I am so happy to have stumbled my way over here with you guys.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, you are an awesome poet. I feel fortunate that you are here to bounce things off from. …like this tennis ball. 🙂

      Seriously, though… I’m glad this poem worked. I’ve been working harder on my writing. The Harrison thing is part of it. I’m also reading in a poetry textbook that makes my brain bleed if I go more than a few paragraphs at a time. So the positive feedback tells me I may be headed in the right direction.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

