Strangers Never

Fernwood

Fernwood image, Pinterest

This is day 11 of Days of Unreason:

“I’m unsure if all of me returned.” – Jim Harrison

 

Meeting her made my life anew.
A start that caused our hearts to beat,
worrying if the other’s heart was true;
sweating over her getting cold feet.

A fresh start that caused our hearts to beat,
pulsing out of our tortured….  Heart strings
vibrated as nervous music tapped.  My feet
tapping time to a fantasy.  Sinatra sings,

pulsing out of my tortured heart strings,
drawing me on to undiscovered Fernwood
Botanical Gardens where….  Sinatra sings
Strangers in the Night, an omen good;

drawing me to an appointment in Fernwood.
On the phone, this is really true!
Strangers never; drawn together for good.
Meeting her made my life.  A new…

start!

* * * Poetic form: Pantoum * * *

True story!  Okay, for historical accuracy it is highly unlikely either of us would have been listening to Old Blue Eyes… and certainly not that tune (it just plays well poetically).  I would’ve been listening to something rockier, to soothe my jangled nerves.  She would’ve been listening to some rocking blues, for the same reason.  And, true to the prompt, at the end of the day a large part of me remained with her, and I carried a large part of her home with me.  It’s been like that ever since.

A little over a year ago, I joined Jillys2016 in a challenge called “28 Days of Unreason.”  She culled quotes from the poems of Jim Harrison in a book called Songs of Unreason.  We used the quotes as prompts; diving boards suspended over the abyss of poetry.  Jill is revisiting unreason, and I am skipping gleefully along.  Come and join the fun!

 

13 thoughts on “Strangers Never

  1. “Pulsing out of our tortured heart strings”. Love that line. The whole piece has a nice rhythm. And “strangers never”… exactly what true soul mates are when they meet.
    Haven’t tried the Pantoum yet. Soon, maybe.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have found this to be my easiest of the rhyming forms (I don’t know why). I may attempt the Sestina… we’ll see.

      I’m glad you liked this. I haven’t done many openly romantic poems; which is sad, because I truly have a wonderful romance going. When we met our first thoughts were (at the same time), “Where did we meet before this?” Our timelines never really crossed; yet it had that feel.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

