Elusive Poetry

Van Gogh

 

Stare not, your vision

and your eyes will dry.

What you seek to see

is discerned askance.

Allow your wandering

thoughts free reign,

your eyes unfocus.

Go beyond; look.
Go inside; seek.
Go off the range,
off the trail,
off the mark.

Just below the surface, watch

as the verses swim.

Among the trees, see

as the lines chase.

Among the clouds,

in the steel yellow-blue
of the cloudless day,

drifting across the starry,
starry night sky,

pick the strings of the uncertain love.

18 thoughts on “Elusive Poetry

  1. I have never seen a Van Gogh quote on poetry – he is, alas, my favorite ‘poet.’ The form turns this into visual art. I am especially taken with ‘steel yellow-blue’ had to think about that a bit. The imagery is accurate and reflective of the artist. Your words call the reader of poetry to step back and look at the ‘painting’ from a distance and from the side, not looking too intently. Hmmm – a bit like our upcoming eclipse? Wonderfully done, Charley!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I put my heart and my soul into my work, and have lost my mind in the process. ~ Van Gogh

    I dream of painting and then I paint my dream. ~ Van Gogh

    Your writing sinks me into your mind and well you’ve created such an amazing poem with artistic progression. Love it my friend. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

