A Question of Survival

Minnehaha Falls

Minnehaha Falls, Minneapolis, MN

This is day 7 of Days of Unreason:

“The only answer I’ve found is the moving water whose
music is without a single lyric.” – Jim Harrison

I fish at the river of tears, catching
and tagging miseries.  I’m employed
by Fish, Pain and Wildlife, part of
the Department of Natural Recourses.

When the sun casts no shadows, I stop
and have my lunch beneath weeping
laments; messy trees!  But there I find
peace and solace, as mourning loves
flit and flutter, and coo their wheezy coos.

Back at it, I net Unfaithfuls, battle Wobegon
I-dos, and collect Tears of Joy for the lab
where tests will be run.

A little over a year ago, I joined Jillys2016 in a challenge called “28 Days of Unreason.”  She culled quotes from the poems of Jim Harrison in a book called Songs of Unreason.  We used the quotes as prompts; diving boards suspended over the abyss of poetry.  Jill is revisiting unreason, and I am skipping gleefully along.  Come and join the fun!

13 thoughts on “A Question of Survival

  1. I’m not even sure where to start; this is so clever! The pain metaphors are marvelous. I think the last bit is my favorite about catching tears of joy for the lab – fabulous stuff all the way through!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

