a question of pronouns

her dog would growl and chew my shoe
I don’t know why I’m good with pets
she never bit me her tail always wagged
I stopped seeing her her interest flagged

I don’t know why I’m good with pets
I stopped seeing her her interest flagged
you never know when it’s bound to end
we broke it off clean she’s not even a friend

I stopped seeing her her interest flagged
we broke it off clean she’s not even a friend
dogs read people well cats are a breeze
the trouble with cats is they share their fleas

you never know when it’s bound to end
she never bit me her tail always wagged
I don’t know why I’m good with pets
her dog would growl and chew my shoe

So what do great poets do when they are strapped for inspiration?  I don’t know; that’s why I’m asking.  What I did today was create a form (okay, a disclaimer: this may have already been a form that I just happened to re-create unwittingly… but it seemed like I was creating it, so until I hear otherwise….).  I call it the “B3elle.”  I called it that because we were in Bikes, Beans and Bordeaux, a local eatery (hence B3) and I added the “elle,” because, hey! it sounds poet-icky.  The rhyme scheme is ABC(1)C  BCD(1)D  CDEE  D(1)C(1)BA.  This is my first attempt at the form.

Tonight is Open Link night at dVerse Poets Pub; a fine opportunity to test drive the B3elle!

30 thoughts on “a question of pronouns

  1. It’s a clever form – builds on a few others but not quite like any others I’ve seen or written. It has the “feel” of a round. It could easily be fitted into a song, it could be changed to three lines and work as a blues. It could stay with four line verses and add three line refrains and work as rock or pop. It could go full classical and work as recurring motifs. I like it. I might try it sometime. If I do, I’ll credit you. (smiles)
    G.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

