My Spanish Moss

Spanish moss

photo by Charley

Spanish moss clings tight
It’s a parasite
Who knew?

Tops the tree, lost fight
But a pretty sight
Too true.

Live Oaks stand with might
I’m burdened with right
to do.

Tonight at dVerse Poets Pub, we are being asked to Lai It On!  The The Lai (as we will play with it) a nine-line poem or stanza that uses an “a” and “b” rhyme following this pattern:
aab
aab
aab.
The lines with an “a” rhyme use 5 syllables;
the “b” rhyme lines only have 2 syllables.

36 thoughts on “My Spanish Moss

  1. Spanish moss does look pretty although I only see it when traveling in the south. Melanie’s Lay Down was one of my favorites when I was young–it still is: “Some came to sing. Some came to pray. Some came to keep the dark away.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anything that clings too tight and smothers…. Dang! My wife may think I’m a parasite. Technically, Spanish Moss is an air plant… no roots. You can attach air plants to anything and they’ll grow.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love that ending. Great photo! In different lighting, Spanish Moss looks both eerie and romantic to me. I was reading that French explorers called it Barbe Espagnol (“Spanish Beard”) and that’s how Spanish Moss got its name. I didn’t know that. Interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How cool to run into Melanie on a 21st century morning, just after sitting down to my keyboard, waiting for the first tune from Donovan’s (even earlier) Barabajagal album–the one with his Atlantis tune (yes, I still have & still play with vinyl) to wash over me. Thanks for the throwback!

    About the moss: nice capture, both photographic & poetic. I, being a bit mossy myself, should know. Salute!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah, Donovan! First there is a mountain… Vinyl is on the comeback with the millennials. Donovan will be as well, since most of them hate their own music. Thank you for the response! Peace!

      Like

Leave a Reply

