A Bop Till You Drop

cartoon6418

The sun is setting;
all too soon setting.
I don’t want to lose
another day to feeling
like all I do is work;
that life is only this.
God be merciful and send me a time of wool-gathering sloth!

My work is trying.
Sixth graders I discipline.
Okay, well, I refer
them to in-school suspension,
out-of-school suspension.
I only labor when they misbehave.
When was the last time you were around sixth graders?
They misbehave as if it’s mandatory!
God be merciful and send me a time of wool-gathering sloth!

Each morning I arrive
early, hoping to ruminate and write.
The paperwork towers,
the email glowers,
the stomach acid flowers,
my eyes shedding April showers!
God be merciful and send me a time of wool-gathering sloth!

In response to the NaPoWriMo prompt, I wrote a Bop: 6 lines and a refrain, 8 lines and a refrain, and 6 lines and a refrain.  Somehow, in some strange, slightly twisted sort of way, it reminds me of church… high church.

 

4 thoughts on “A Bop Till You Drop

Leave a Reply

