Feather Light

Blow, winds, and crack your cheeks! rage! blow!
You cataracts and hurricanoes, spout….

– King Lear, Act 3, Scene 2

NINTCHDBPICT000272399080

Hurricane Matthew, skull shape

Earthbound I remain
though my thoughts and dreams
sometimes – no, often – soar
when even the slightest
storm breezes stir.

It’s hurricane season in Florida;
the height of the season
of unbridled convective chaos.
This time it’s Matthew who threatens.
Appropriate, since he is our first,
a new testament of hell-winds,
hail, storm surging waves –
tornad – ee – I – ee – oes.

Earthbound I remain.
Earthbound I hope to remain.
But who knows how I’ll take wing
when my thoughts and dreams
and the cyclone meet.

Leave a Reply

