Not a Great Shake I

 

Since I am tasked to write in metered time,
And since I never learned to accents place
This task is burden troth and hardly kind
Seems easy but reality bears out
Tis true that poets great can easy count
A word as beaten hard which part it has
The point accented that makes two its feet
But my left footed dance with words trips hard
Not men like Fred Astaire or Kelly might
The book helpful most for a meter form
Symbols has I did not learn, in school in truth
They are but rare, odd shapes that figure not
Desire to learn meter, I burn with shame
My mind hears not the clear rhythmic heartbeat

dVerse — Poets Pub:
Meter-Made Mood – dVerse Meeting the Bar
Tonight we are challenged to match poetic meter with mood/tone.
It’s not playing to my strong suit, but join us anyway!
https://dversepoets.com/2016/06/16/meter-made-mood-dverse-meeting-the-bar/

Okay, since posting this I have been informed that Sonnets, technically, should rhyme.  I was so busy keeping track of the meter that… well, I don’t do math and poetry simultaneously!  Make up my mind; counting stressed syllables or over-stressed poets!  Sheesh!

18 thoughts on “Not a Great Shake I

  1. Oh you make me feel so cruel and guilty…but look what you did with it! Perfect meter, so no more excuses. Great treatment of the poem and it gave me a good smile, so I’d say the mood is happy in spite of the topic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I made you feel cruel and guilty… my job is done! 🙂 See my response to Bodhirose. Add a glass of Port and some minor twitching of the eye. Thank you! It was a fun challenge.

      Like

  2. Love it! Ah that we could all be the Fred Astaire and Gene Kelly of poetry in the masterful capturing of meter in our words, as they did rhythm in their feet! And always rememter that Ginger Rogers did everything Fred Astaire did, in high heels and backwards! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, there is that one little movie where Astair and Rogers exchanged clothes and roles. (I’m lying; it never happened!) Thank you for enjoying what comes from an over-stressed mind and an undisciplined pen!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

