Unearthing Love

“She’s unearthed words buried deep inside me where I kept them hidden with my hope” ― Kirk Diedrich, Junk Shop Heart

(Intro)
I never dreamed that I could converse
with flowers and stars and birds!
She came and changed my universe;
we communicate with unearthed words.

(Verse 1)
I went under when a personal Vesuvius blew.
Buried in the ash heap of a bad love gone bad.
That I existed under the fallout nobody knew.
I stayed buried; my misery was all that I had.

(Refrain)
Arrrcheology of the heart, that’s what she was about.
Digging the dirt that had covered me over.
Arrrcheology of the heart, she came and shoveled me out.
She was digging me; made me into a lover.

(Verse 2)
She’s a woman who majors in undervalued commodities.
She looks for value where others’ve seen none.
A woman who enjoys specializing in vintage oddities
and I thank God she’s discovered I’m one!

(Refrain)
Arrrcheology of the heart, that’s what she was about.
Digging the dirt that had covered me over.
Arrrcheology of the heart, she came and shoveled me out.
She was digging me; made me into a lover.

(Bridge)
Are you digging?
Are you digging what I’m saying?
She’s been digging.
And it’s with me she’ll be staying!

(Refrain)
Arrrcheology of the heart, that’s what she was about.
Digging the dirt that had covered me over.
Arrrcheology of the heart, she came and shoveled me out.
She was digging me; made me into a lover.

Sheeee was diiiigging… and sheeee duuug up meeee!

 

dVerse: Poet’s Pub
Poetics – The Music in You
Tonight’s prompt is to write a song poem.
So blame them; not me!
https://dversepoets.com/2016/06/07/poetics-the-music-in-you/

18 thoughts on “Unearthing Love

  1. i WitH Stone
    Cold heArt2
    requireD a diG
    for sUre.. to unearth
    a treAsure more than
    death as LiFe..
    And afTer
    WoRkInG
    iN ArcHaeoLogy
    wHen youNg.. i mUSt
    say a poEtress pen
    wOrks better
    than a
    shoVeL
    iN
    SanD..;)

    Like

  2. I’ve been surfing online greater than 3 hours lately, but
    I by no means discovered any attention-grabbing article like
    yours. It is beautiful worth sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made
    excellent content as you probably did, the web might be much more helpful than ever before.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

