The Big, Bad

“There is a human wildness held beneath the skin that finds all barriers brutishly unbearable”                                                    – James Harrison, from Songs of Unreason

 

Hate a cage

Can’t stand a fence

Creates a rage

It makes no sense

 

Good neighbors lean across

Spend an hour exchanging new

But I feel my freedom’s a loss

Like my leg’s in a trap and I must chew

 

Growling, howling, let me run

Clawing, Scratching, let me go

Born to be wild, chasing the sun

I’ll be howling tonight – just so you know

 

“Even a man who is pure in heart and says his prayers by night, may become a wolf when the wolfbane blooms and the autumn moon is bright” (The Wolf Man, 1941).

 

You should have known me when I lived in London.

This is part of “28 Days of Unreason”

based on prompts taken from poems

by Jim Harrison.

https://jillys2016.wordpress.com/2016/05/02/28-days-of-unreason/

Leave a Reply

